Master Teaching Chair Program

One of the ways St. Mark’s recognizes excellence among the faculty is by naming individual faculty members to endowed chairs established by generous gifts from alumni, parents, and friends of the School. Click here to learn more about the Master Teaching Chair Program.

Endowed Master Teaching Chairs

Cecil H. and Ida Green Master Teaching Chair in Science

Stephen N. Balog, Ph.D.
B.S., University of Texas at El Paso
M.S., Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Victor F. White Master Teaching Chair in English

David M. Brown
B.A., Oral Roberts University
M.A., San Diego State University
M.F.A., Pennsylvania State University

Ackerman Family Master Teaching Chair in Lower School

Kay Carrio
B.S., Texas Tech University
M.A., Southern Methodist University

Leonard N. “Doc” Nelson Alumni Master Teaching Chair

Paul C. Hoehn
B.A., University of Colorado Boulder
M.S., University of Texas at Dallas

Arnold E. Holtberg Master Teaching Chair

Scott Hunt
B.S., M.F.A., Texas A&M University - Commerce

J. J. Connolly Master Teaching Chair

Nancy Marmion
A.B., College of William & Mary
M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Cecil H. and Ida Green Master Teaching Chair

Marsha L. McFarland
B.A., Southern Methodist University
M.A., Middlebury College

Eugene McDermott Master Teaching Chair in Science

John S. Mead
B.A., M.A.T., Duke University

Thomas S. Adams Master Teaching Chair

Rebecca Jenkins
B.S., University of Texas at Austin

Sally & Edward Genecov Master Teaching Chair

Amy J. Pool
B.S., M.S., Portland State University

Founders’ Master Teaching Chair

Douglas C. Rummel
B.S., Oregon State University
M.A.T., University of Texas at Dallas

Malcolm K. and Minda Brachman Master Teaching Chair

Martin Stegemoeller, Ph.D.
B.A., Northwestern University
M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Suzanne and Patrick McGee Family Master Teaching Chair in Mathematics

Joe Milliet
B.S., Tulane University
M.Ed., Lamar University

Trustee Master Teaching Chair

Lynne M. Weber
B.A., University of California, Los Angeles
M.A., University of Dallas

Gene and Alice Oltrogge Master Teaching Chair

Ray Westbrook
B.S., Texas State University, San Marcos

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Master Teaching Chair

Bruce C. Westrate, Ph.D.
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Michigan – Ann Arbor

Endowed Faculty Positions

In addition to Master Teaching Chairs, St. Mark's also maintains several Endowed Faculty Positions. These positions carry different responsibilities than Master Teaching Chairs and are tailored toward supporting the administration of the School. Endowed Faculty Positions honor the impact of the departments they fill.

Eugene McDermott Headmaster

David W. Dini
B.A., M.L.A., Southern Methodist University

Stephen M. Seay ’68 Science Department Chair

Fletcher Carron
B.S., Rice University

Ahlberg & Ribman Family Director of Alumni Relations

Alex Eshelbrenner ’04
B.A., University of Kansas

Tony Vintcent Fine Arts Department Chair

Marion Glorioso-Kirby
B.F.A., University of Oklahoma School of Drama
M.L.A., Southern Methodist University.

Thomas B. Walker III ’73 Mathematics Department Chair

Shane May
B.S., University of Houston
M.Ed., Houston Baptist University 

Al G. Hill ’63 Director of College Counseling

Veronica Pulido
B.A., M.S., University of Notre Dame